board of directors

The HAABC Board of Directors consists of 7 representatives, all of whom are elected at the annual HAABC Seminar by the HAABC membership. One Director is elected by the HAs of each of the 6 HA zones, and the entire membership elects 1 Director at Large. 

Directors serve two year terms before being up for re-election by the members of their respective zone.


Chris Lougheed

Born on the West Coast, Chris spend his childhood in the East Coast port town of Halifax.  The shoreline was a frequent playground that nurtured a deep love for the oceans that surround Canada.  Summer vacations always included lots of time on his grandfather’s sailboat.  These formative experiences led him to BCIT’s small engine mechanics program before a twist of fate landed him employment at False Creek Harbour Authority in Vancouver.

His time at FCHA developed an appreciation for business managemetn and Chris became the Harbour Manager of Ladner Harbour Authority five years later.  During those years, the Harbour saw delivery of numerous large scale projects such as a full dredging of the harbour and complete replacement of the electrical system.  LHA was recognized with regional distinction awards for individual harbour achievement during his tenure.

In 2021, an opportunity emerged to return to harbour life as the manager at Gibson’s Landing Harbour Authority.  Returning to a smaller town to put down roots and guide a business at the heart of a commnity was too good to pass up, and Chris moved to the Sunshine Coast with his wife and border collie.  They happily spend their free time exploring the Coast from top to bottom, water’s edge to mountain top.  Chris finds fulfillment in sharing his passion for the marine world with the excellent staff and customers of GLHA.

keri Dybhavn

Keri Dybhavn is the General Manager of the Port Edward Harbour Authority.  She has been employed with the Port Edward Harbour Authority since September 2001 and became General Manager in 2012.  Keri manages the second largest Harbour Authority in Canada that sees the traffic of 1500-1800 vessels annually.

Born in the rainy coastal fishing town of Prince Rupert BC, Keri’s family roots are imbedded in the fishing industry as her father, grandfather and great grandfather were all fishermen. To Keri fishing was not just a job; it was a way of life.  

 The salt air and her family roots called her home in 2001; Prince Rupert is where Keri is raising six beautiful children.  Keri’s love of the ocean, outdoors and fishing is what drives her passion to be a positive impact on an organization that is here to support the fishing industry.

janet rooke

Tsehum Harbour Authority was incorporated in April of 1996.  Two years after its inception Janet was hired as the Harbour Manager.  Having worked two decades in the marine industry she brought a diversity of experience to her new position.  Janet is a dedicated individual and strong supporter of the commercial fishing industry.  She enjoys the challenges and problem solving nature of her work.  “Let’s all work together to keep our working harbour working” is a slogan Janet proudly lives by as Harbour Manager. 

SCH and HAABC have recognized Janet’s contributions over the past twenty two years.  She proudly accepted the Individual Commitment Award for the Pacific Region in 2009, the Environmental Stewardship Award in 2011 and the HAABC Lifetime Member Award in 2013.  February of 2019 added the Long Standing Service award to her achievements. Janet has enjoyed her position as the South Island Director on the HAABC board since 2003 and she has been a valuable member and mentor for many.


Chris Lougheed, President – Sunshine Coast Zone Director (Gibsons Landing Harbour Authority)

Anika Tarata, Vice President – North Island Zone Director (Port Hardy Harbour Authority)

Catherine Lee-Smith, Secretary/Treasurer – Lower Mainland Zone Director (Squamish Harbour Authority)

Janet Rooke – South Island Zone Director (Tsheum Harbour Authority)

Leslie Taylor – Mid Island Zone Director (Comox Harbour Authority)

Keri Dybhaven – North Coast Zone Director (Port Edward Harbour Authority)

Jean Miserendino – Director at Large (Ford Cove Harbour Authority)

stay up to date with the latest!

Are you reading Tidal Currents? It’s the latest news and information vital to Harbour Authorities across BC. See the latest editions and a catalogue of past editions of this popular newsletter.